U of T Students Shine at the 2013 Ontario Engineering Competition

U of T Engineering students at the 2013 Ontario Engineering Competition. View more photos in Flickr.

U of T Engineering students excelled at this year’s Ontario Engineering Competition (OEC). They took home awards in five of the six competition categories, including three first-place wins. The winners will advance to the Canadian Engineering Competition in Ottawa for a chance to enter the inaugural International Engineering Competition.

The number of U of T students qualified to compete in this year’s OEC is unprecedented in recent history. Competitors were selected by Skule alumni judges at the student-led University of Toronto Engineering Kompetition (UTEK) prior to the OEC on January 26.

“We really appreciate all the alumni who helped us select these talented teams to represent the University of Toronto,” says UTEK director Marissa Wu (EngSci 1T3).  “They make UTEK possible, and we hope to see them again next year.”

Now in its 34th year, the OEC gathers top engineering students from schools across Ontario. Judged and organized by leading engineering professionals and professors, the event provides a chance for students to develop their skills and impress their peers.

Congratulations to U of T Engineering’s 2013 OEC winners:

Parliamentary Debate

First place: Inderraj Singh Grewal (EngSci 1T3) and Karl Qin (EngSci 1T3 + PEY)

Third place: Rahul Gopalkrishnan (CompE 1T2) and Saminur Majumder (MechE 1T2)


First place: Ankit Bhardwaj (CivE 1T4), Edvard Bruun (CivE 1T4), Ivan Damnjanovic (CivE 1T4) and Laura Manusco (CivE 1T4)

Second place: Reza Abasi (EngSci 1T2 + PEY), Aditya Dhoot (EngSci 1T2 + PEY), Jason Hambrey (EngSci 1T2 + PEY) and Eric Ma (EngSci 1T2 + PEY)


First place: Amr Ahmed (IndE 1T3)

Second place: Lorne Mlotek (CivE 1T3)

Innovative Design

Second place: Rahul Goel (EngSci 1T6)

Senior Design

First place: John (Jun Tao) Luo (EngSci 1T4), Zane Luo (EngSci 1T4), Aleck Wu (EngSci 1T4) and Ling Zhong (EngSci 1T4)